Michael Jackson

Michael Jackson

A week before the worldwide Diamond Celebration of Michael Jackson’s birthday (August 29th), the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) has announced that 21 different songs and three albums, spanning Jackson’s career, have garnered major new Gold and Platinum certifications.

Some of Jackson’s more renown albums and songs are newly multi-Platinum, while other songs are earning Gold status for the first time. The new song awards mean that the late King of Pop totals 40 million cumulative digital singles certifications in the U.S.

“These new awards highlight the enduring legacy of Michael Jackson,” said RIAA President Mitch Glazier. “Michael’s music continues to be a dominant cultural force today. That’s a testament to his iconic music and to the team that astutely protects his legacy. As we celebrate 60 years of Gold and Platinum Awards this year, we are proud to recognize once again one of the program’s signature artists.”

“Michael Jackson’s music and short films continue to thrill fans and inspire artists all over the world. These new certifications are a testament to Michael’s continued legacy,” adds Richard Story, President, CMG, Sony Music Entertainment.

“Michael’s music and spirit has proved exciting and relevant to each succeeding generation, and that is borne out by these tremendous numbers and the kinds of artists who gravitate to and are inspired by his music,” noted John Branca and John McClain, the co-executors of the Estate of Michael Jackson.

New Album Certifications:

  • Dangerous 8x multi-Platinum
  • History: Past, Present & Future Book 1 8x multi-Platinum
  • The Essential Michael Jackson 4x multi-Platinum

New Song Certifications:

  • “Thriller” 6x multi-Platinum
  • “Billie Jean” 5x multi-Platinum
  • “Beat It” 4x multi-Platinum
  • “Man In The Mirror” 3x multi-Platinum
  • “Smooth Criminal” 2x multi-Platinum
  • “Don’t Stop ’til You Get Enough” 3x multi-Platinum
  • “The Way You Make Me Feel” 2x multi-Platinum
  • “P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing)” 2x multi-Platinum
  • “Black Or White” 2x multi-Platinum
  • “Rock With You” 2x multi-Platinum
  • “Bad” Platinum
  • “Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin'” Platinum
  • “Dirty Diana” Platinum
  • “Human Nature” Platinum
  • “Remember The Time” Platinum
  • “They Don’t Care About Us” Gold
  • “You Rock My World” Gold
  • “Will You Be There” Platinum
  • “Hold My Hand” Gold
  • “Earth Song” Gold
  • “Off The Wall” Platinum