Death Cab for Cutie

Death Cab for Cutie (photo: Eliot Lee Hazel)

Death Cab for Cutie will release their ninth studio album, Thank You for Today, on August 17 via Atlantic Records. Lead single “Gold Rush” arrived at radio and digital retailers today, with a video for the track released as well.

Thank You for Today marks the first Death Cab for Cutie release to see Ben Gibbard, Nick Harmer and Jason McGerr joined in the studio by new members Dave Depper and Zac Rae. Depper and Rae joined Death Cab’s touring band in 2015, following the exit of founding member Chris Walla. It was produced by Rich Costey (Fiona Apple, Muse), who also worked with the band on their last album, Kintsugi.

After a handful of summer festival appearances, Death Cab for Cutie will head out on a fall tour of North America, which just added a second night in both Boston and Philadelphia. The band will then play South America and Mexico in November.

Thank You for Today track listing:

1. “I Dreamt We Spoke Again”
2. “Summer Years”
3. “Gold Rush”
4. “Your Hurricane”
5. “When We Drive”
6. “Autumn Love”
7. “Northern Lights”
8. “You Moved Away”
9. “Near/Far”
10. “60 & Punk”